• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Duckyou

I don’t give a Weiner shit!
    Rating - 100%
    14   0   0
    I want to buy/make/build my son a 22lr that he can shoot. He is 4 but about the size of a normal 6 year old.

I was thinking a cricket- but everyone does that. Maybe a cut down 10/22 or something else.

Give me ideas and if you have something then feel free to pm.

ccather

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Good to see you are introducing the next generation to shooting! If he has a positive experience, he will come back for more.

At that age, children are like sponges and soak up knowledge quickly. With so much to learn about shooting, I would think you do not want the rifle to get in the way.

I am no expert. Here are some thoughts:

His first rifle may not be his last. As he grows, there will likely be other rifles. I would focus on making his initial experience as positive as possible. You may want to consider gun fit, rifle weight, trigger weight, quality of the barrel and type of sights. I know I am frustrated shooting a poor quality rifle that sprays bullets. It can mislead me on what I need to do to shoot it better. The same could also frustrate a new shooter.

As far as action type, brand and model, others will likely have better input than me.

Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Ruger 10/22 tactical with the 16 inch barrel and mount a bi pod I put both my kids daughter and son on it at that age both are going on 7 and 9 and sniper material at this point lol
    Good luck teach em safety and techniques he’ll be jumping up to a larger rifle before you know itbefore you know it

wildrider666

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    I started my kids on a single shot Ithica M49, actually traded a surf board for it. Lol. It's still being used to teach grandkids and others via my Son.