• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Dylan O'Leary

Shooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    So I'm new at this, but I have a funny situation. The barrel of my 9mm 1911 (Springfield) passes the audio portion of the plunk test, even with rounds that are a little longer than SAAMI's max of 1.169". However, NONE of them spin in the chamber. That seems to be as critical a part of a plunk test than the nice sound of the case head hitting the case mouth firmly (correct terms?). Even an empty brass case won't spin. All of them sit under the hood/shroud, too, or right at it. A gunsmith said that I've probably got a particularly tight chamber at the case mouth (and I told him "Thanks, darlin'"). And that's why nothing will spin. Thoughts?

BluesBrother

Master
    Rating - 100%
    115   0   0
    Do you trust the gunsmith? If yes, problem solved. if not continue asking questions. The absolute test is if the cycling is flawless with your preferred ammo. No FE,FF,stove piping. Sounds like you're over-thinking this. The only thing my ex-wife said that I agreed with is "there is no perfection." And she probably heard it from someone else.

ChrisC

Master
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Audio test in plunk test? Thats a first I’ve heard that. Clean the chamber really well. Pay attention to the case mouth ledge where it can collect lead shavings. a properly SIZED brass should not have issue spinning. Keyword, sized properly. Fix the empty case issue first then move on the loaded rounds. Shorten OAL (within reason) until it spins freely. Also check your crimp. too much crimp can cause it as well

Last edited:
    Rating - 100%
    10   0   0

Dylan O'Leary

Shooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    >>Do you trust the gunsmith?
    Yeah, he works at a very reputable gun shop locally, and probably the oldest, just north of P'cola.