• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • DAS HUGH!

Master
    Rating - 100%
    11   0   0
    I used to rappel for a living for a local waterproofing company. And I been on many roofs. Too many lol. And when people talk about metal I always recall the first time I went out on a roof on a 15 story condo on the beach during like August and suddenly noticed that one roof in particular didn't try to give me 3rd degree burns when touching it lol. It was actually cool to the touch even in direct sunlight. And I then thought wow I wonder how much that saves in energy bills alone when most roofs are scalding hot during the summer. So anyways long story short. It was a goldish shiny color. And I later realized it was an anodized finish and not painted like most. It was also aluminum. Not sure exactly who makes it. But it exists. I'd deffo ask about that kind if shopping for some

Sent from my SM-G988U using Tapatalk

Jester896

Master
    GCGF Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    10   0   0
    isn't it now days like, warrenty wise, the difference in an 80 year asphalt roof and a 90 year metal roof...will you care in 30 years

Gonzolee10

Master
    GCGF Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    22   0   0
    I'm a contractor and the answer is hands down yes steel over shingles. As long as its done correctly. There's alot of jack leg roofers out there that will screw your roof up and most homeowners wouldn't know it until it's too late. Shop around and do you're due diligence on your contractors

stage20

Master
    GCGF Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    89   0   0
    I am also looking to make this decision.
    Call your insurance before you make a decision to see how long they rate the metal roof. Yes. Not the manufacturers warranty, how long will the insurance keep your premium low before they skyrocket it.