• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • TennJeep1618

2M 1FTE
    GCGF Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    I ran across some old pictures yesterday and they got me thinking about an awesome experience I was fortunate enough to have. Be warned, this will be long.

In the spring of 2010, I got a call from a buddy that I graduated college with. He told me about a program he found out about that let people apply for a lottery to take part in an elk population reduction program in Theodore Roosevelt National Park near Medora, North Dakota. The program was implemented to take out several hundred cows out of overcrowded population in the park. The "hunt" was free if your name was drawn. All you had to do was provide yourself with food, lodging and transportation. Naturally, I was all for it. We had 2 of our other buddies sign up with us as a group, so if one of us got chosen, we all got to go as a group.

Well what do you know? On August 17, I received an email stating that I was selected as a volunteer in the elk reduction program for November 15-19! I immediately called my buddies and they were extremely pumped to find out. Then the real work began. We had to figure out the logistics of how we were all going to get to North Dakota, where we were going to stay, what equipment we were going to need, etc.