• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • kwright06

Shooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Looking to pickup my first AR. Any suggestions on manufacturers? I will be getting a slide fire stock and the accessories down the road. I want to make sure that I get a quality rifle but not trying to drop 1500 on it as I am just getting into the sport. No competition or hunting it will be just something to play with since I need a new hobby. I am a complete newbie to ARs (other than my time in the marines) so any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Urbanfuturistic

Marksman
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    I would suggest the S&W M&P 15 sport. Others will chime in about how its not as great because it doesn't have a dust cover and forward assist, nor a chrome lined bbl. However, at $650 it kinda sounds like it may be right up your alley. I got mine at Academy on Davis and couldn't be happier with it.

However, Since then I have seen both at Mikes: A Delton AR-15, and also a Bushmaster Carbon 15 for ~$599-699. The only complaint I have is that I would have liked to see all three rifles next to each other when making my decision. Not a regret so much, but would have liked to see all the options in the price range.

Now, an opinion:
    Stay away from that slidefire bumpfire stock crap. Seems to be just that, crap. /opinion.

Edit:
    Matter of fact, if you want to, we can get up to the range some time and you can take my S&W M&P 15 Sport for a test drive. See how you like it.

Last edited:

Stanley13

I'm From AL and I Love to Shoot Shit
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Now, an opinion:
    Stay away from that slidefire bumpfire stock crap. Seems to be just that, crap. /opinion.(QUOTE]

I do not own an have never owned or even seen slide fire or bump fire but would love to hear ur bios opinion.Thanks

Urbanfuturistic

Marksman
    Rating - 0%