• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • noleveyor

Shooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Looking for a replacement for an older Nikon scope. It's been decades since I bought one new and I have no current knowledge about scope quality so I'd appreciate any recommendations. It's for hunting rifle but I wouldn't mind it being useful on an AR if needed. I'm looking to stay in the sub $500 range.

Thanks!

Baddog 0302

Master
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    What power was your old scope ? Probably the best way to pick out a scope is to determine what power you want, which might be based on the mid way point between the closest and furthers distance you plan to shoot, next weather a Variable or a fixed power.
    Go to "big box" sporting goods store and ask to look through several scopes.
    What is your intended use for a scoped AR ?

noleveyor

Shooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    What power was your old scope ? Probably the best way to pick out a scope is to determine what power you want, which might be based on the mid way point between the closest and furthers distance you plan to shoot, next weather a Variable or a fixed power.
    Go to "big box" sporting goods store and ask to look through several scopes.
    What is your intended use for a scoped AR ?
    It was a 3-10x. I've looked at Bass Pro and academy here in town and can't tell much difference in clarity/quality/low light potential in store. I'd be using the AR for hog hunting if I swapped the scope over.
    Thanks.

Fodderwing

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    One of these, Trijicon 3x9x40 with green dot on the cross hairs.

Yes, it will be a bit more than $500, but you can find them less than MSRP. I have two of them.

Buy one, you will thank me after you kill that big buck 5 minutes before legal shooting hours end because you could see the dot.

Jstocks

Expert