• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Rebel_Rider1969

Well Known Nuisance
    Rating - 100%
    36   0   0
    Something I ment to post about several months ago. May not be an issue with quality shotguns.
    When you fully seat the screw in choke take a copper wire bend it into an L shape and slide it down the bore thru the choke. Feeling to see if there is a lip or gap between the choke and the bore.
    I'm no expert but I believe you should not be able to feel a gap.
    I had this happen on a midland single shot 12ga, mobil choke. When replacing the factory full choke with a turkey choke. -Did not shoot it-
    I always think about this when someone has a choke stuck in the gun and wonder.
    Something to check.
    Ymmv.

DAS HUGH!

Master
    Rating - 100%
    11   0   0
    Something I ment to post about several months ago. May not be an issue with quality shotguns.
    When you fully seat the screw in choke take a copper wire bend it into an L shape and slide it down the bore thru the choke. Feeling to see if there is a lip or gap between the choke and the bore.
    I'm no expert but I believe you should not be able to feel a gap.
    I had this happen on a midland single shot 12ga, mobil choke. When replacing the factory full choke with a turkey choke. -Did not shoot it-
    I always think about this when someone has a choke stuck in the gun and wonder.
    Something to check.
    Ymmv.
    Yeah I think about it alot as I think about how the Kentucky Ballistics guy got bloated up with his 50 using sabot SLAP rounds with a brake. (At least I think that's what they determined it was finally last I heard.) I guess it too snagged.

DAS HUGH!

Master
    Rating - 100%
    11   0   0
    Kentucky ballistics guy said the round was loaded too hot and exceeded the pressure the gun was rated for.