• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • LeeB

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Hello Steel Challenge PCC Shooters (with some IDPA applications)

Since I now have way too much time on my hands due to the stay at home order, I have embarked on a ballistics investigation and proper zero distance for my PCC. The distance I have arrived at is 13.5 yards. Now, I’ll tell you how I arrived at that distance which might spark some interest and discussion from others on their ideas.

First, I am no expert in shooting steel or ballistics. Second, I shoot a Diamondback DB9R with a 16 inch barrel, 9MM Blazer CCI 115 grain FMJ ammo with a muzzle velocity of ~1300 fps and a Vortex Strikefire II red/green dot optic sight. I am tall and lanky so my optic uses the factory cantilever mount and a 1 inch riser, resulting in a very large 3.6 inch offset. Until I understood how offsets affect bullet travel (thanks to the more expert people shooting around me) I always shot low on short distance targets. Therefore, I wanted to know my bullet trajectory to try and shoot more accurately so I undertook this examination as all the required information is readily available.