• Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Daezee

Master
    I was asked about solar generators and thought I might have info that others could use, thus this post. Feel free to disagree with any of my thoughts; this is what works for my household. I've had and used solar generators for about 3 years now. I've learned quite a bit from a friend who's trained in electronics/electricity (together, with his measuring instruments, we've experimented pushing the equipment to the limits), FaceBook groups, UTube. I am not an electrician. I did set up my own small off-grid system (my son ((electrician)) and friend did check out my system and made a couple of suggestions regarding fuses and my son installed a dedicated outlet and connecting lines before I went live). The name "solar generator" causes problems for some: They don't generate solar folks say. True, but neither does something that has the name such as "gasoline generator" mean it generates gasoline...the name simply means they use solar or gasoline or diesel or propane or wind to generate electricity.

1) Have and execute a plan.
    2) Do not have unrealistic expectations...goes hand in hand with #1 above.
    3) Don't pay MSRP.
    4) Run tests before you actually NEED the electricity output.
    5) Know how to store your solar generator.
    6) Take advantage of IRS tax credits.