• Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Agent86

Expert
    I’m new to reloading. Been doing it about a month and am exclusively reloading .308. I’ve made about 120 loads. I’m enjoying it and bought an RCBS Summit press over Memorial Day weekend.

I have always found resizing to be difficult. Requiring lots of elbow grease with sticking points along the stroke, especially when the resizing die gets about an 1/8” away from the ram (almost to the rim of the case). Sometimes I just cannot get that last 1/8 inch.

I’m using an old RCBS full length die and Hornady one shot case lube. I also have a new RCBS small base die that I sometimes use on brass of unknown origin. I find I have to drench the cases in lube sometimes. A couple days ago, while resizing with the standard full length die, the handle on the summit press sheared off, leaving the threaded portion of the handle stuck in the press. That’s the level of force I’ve been using to resize.

The shearing of the handle happened at the bottom of the stroke, trying to get that last 1/8”. This put my press out of commission until I got a new handle. As a result I now have a stuck case in my die.

I got some imperial sizing wax and have been using it with my small base die. Not much better if at all with the amount of effort it takes to resize.

What on earth am I missing?

Attachments

• IMG_1079.jpeg
      IMG_1079.jpeg
      1.8 MB · Views: 42
    • IMG_1081.jpeg
      IMG_1081.jpeg
      1.6 MB · Views: 41
    • IMG_1084.jpeg
      IMG_1084.jpeg
      1.7 MB · Views: 46

Snake-Eyes

Master
    Maybe using too much lube?
    Maybe need to let it sit and evaporate for a couple minutes first, not “drenched”?
    Had you wiped out the dies?
    Is it new brass?