Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    may have been asked before doses anyone do it and doses it stay on target

Jerry

Well Known Member
    GCGF Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Yes and Yes. But I suppose it depends on which red dot you have or buy. I would only buy quality for EDC applications.They are very accurate once dialed in and hold zero.

stage20

Master
    GCGF Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    89   0   0
    The bad thing about the good ones is they are costly. Most of the cheaper reflex type sights do not have an auto turn on feature which renders them useless in a self defense situation. Keep that in mind when you are looking. I have a couple burris fast fires that I thought had an auto feature, but they do not.

JWlineman

Master
    Super Moderator
    GCGF Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    I've been running red dots on a ccw for a few years now and have no intention of going back to irons as the benefits outweigh the cost of a quality red dot. You don't have to spend a fortune on one either, I'm currently using a $265 Holosun 507c x2 (has a solar panel) and the glass and emitter are just as clear as my RM06. There's a metric ton of information out there on the subject.
    What pistol do intend on running a dot?

Little Jack

Master
    Rating - 100%
    12   0   0
    Devils advocate....

While I agree there are benefits to the red dot(just like on a rifle) there are some down sides and the utility is diminished when you consider the distances involved in most (not all) defensive engagements. Cost, bulk, batteries, training are all things to consider.

It's the cool thing to do but isn't necessary. Personally, I didn't see much benefit for aiming until past 15yds. Much more precise and as long as you present the weapon properly, the dot is easy to see.

This is the way.... maybe.

Sgump

Broke gun enthusiasts
    GCGF Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    I know last line he ask what I intend to put a red dot on