• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • robert4570

Shooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Hey Guys,

I am fairly new to shooting, so please keep that in mind as you read through this question. Yesterday i was at the range shooting my new Springfield M1A and My New M&P 10. I have had these 2 rifles for about 2 years but until yesterday had never shot them. Everything went fine in terms of shooting, however as i was packing up to leave: "I picked up the rifle and took it to the back of the range" that is the rifle barrel was no longer pointing "Downrange". I did this twice (same rifle) and the range safety officer came in an told me "Not to move the rifle from downrange to the back of the range".

In this case back of the range means the window that looks into the store. Where as downrange is of course the backstop.

I know the rifle was not loaded as i was out my allotted ammo, however and setting that aside, and here is my question:

How bad of a mistake was that? To move the rifle to back range/window and load it into my case?

Sorry if this question is stupid but i want to make sure i understand the range safety requirements.

Thanks,

Robert

zdiver99

Master
    Rating - 100%
    12   0   0
    You must follow the rules of the range and of the range safety officer. How bad was it, what are the rules of the range where you were shooting will answer that question? Check the rules and answer the question. My answer may sound a little harsh, but...........

robert4570

Shooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Thanks for the answer. I appreciate it. In this case that was a violation of the ranges rules, and one i don't intend to make again. I was just trying to get a feel for how common a mistake like that might be.

NavCorman

Master
    Rating - 100%
    14   0   0