APOD Firearms

Optics for a spring piston vs. nitro piston???

The #1 community for Gun Owners of the Gulf Coast States

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • sj1

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    I'm looking at air rifles lately, for every reason everyone else is. I have very little experience with them, but I've narrowed my choices down. I'm impressed with the nitro piston rifles in my price range. If I go that route, is there anything anyone here can recommend as far as optics? (Hitting between a squirrel's ear and eyeball at 50 yards would be ideal, but I don't get paid for my good looks yet)
    I haven't made my choice yet, I'm just bouncing ideas around. Thanks in advance.
    Sj1

fv22

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Recommend you do some research on break barrel spring or nitro piston type guns. They don't shoot like any other type of gun Very difficult to be accurate with until you learn how to hold and shoot them, then finding the right pellet your particular gun likes is another part of learning to shoot one decently. Unless you are going to spend $500 or more on that type of gun don't expect great accuracy. 1" groups at 25 yards is about the best you can consistently expect with occasionally a better group and larger groups regularly. Search online for the "artillery hold" Once you learn that and have shot a few thousand pellets you can get fairly good at shooting a spring or piston gun. Most of those guns, without a very experienced shooter, the right pellet and the right scope would be lucky to hit a squirrel at 50 yards, much less hit him at an exact spot.