• Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Considering optics for an AR 10. 7.62/.308. I have looked at Vortex optics, and several others. My question most specifically pertains to variable range and magnification. Is 1–8×24 sufficient, versus for example, 6 - 24 x 50. Even though it is capable of long range accuracy, having too high a magnification for short range effectiveness would be a concern. Realistically, a 1000 yard capability is impractical locally, as most ranges can only accommodate 100-500 yard range sighting. Brand opinions are welcome, but trying to understand the magnification issue first. I am new to the platform and appreciate any help you can offer. Thanks.

Grits1/5

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    24   0   0
    The first thing to consider is what distances do you plan to be shooting at, and what type of shooting do you plan to do. The .308 round is a good round with good stopping power but isn’t ideal for distances over say 400yrds. Not saying that it can’t accurately reach further with a good rifle and a good marksman, but I personally like the .308 round at the 100-300yrd range. For close quarters, the recoil, weight, and speed for follow up shots is often better served with lesser calibers.
    So depending on your use and intended distances, different scopes may be appropriate. A lpvo like a 1-8x is great for close up when you need it, but the fov and eye box get tight at higher magnification. So it may be a good trade off if you are trying to do it all, and still engage threats at a reasonable range. In many areas, the likelihood of a threat or reasonable target at beyond 200 yards is less likely.