• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • schmen

Shooter
    Hey all,

Im unable to find an exact answer to a question, hoping for some help. I moved to Florida from Virginia last year with a resident CC permit for Virginia. Florida has reciprocity agreement with Virginia, so I know the permit is valid here for some instances. But, since Im now a Florida resident (recently got a Florida license and registered to vote here) Im wondering if Im ok to carry with my VA permit, or if Im required to apply for a FL permit before I can carry, now that Im a resident. Any help is appreciated.

FLEXJ

Shooter
    This won't last long cause you are asking for legal advice and it will surely get closed. But, I would say to get a FL CCW, cause you are officially a resident now.

Jerry

Well Known Member
    GCGF Supporter
    My professional (I work at burger King) Legal (I do know I get a ticket if I run the camera light in Gulf Breeze) Advice (worth exactly what you paid for it, nothing) is that you should abandon the Virginia Permit and get the Florida CCW License. Easy to get, but the wait time to process my be getting longer the more our federal rulers talk about gun control.
    Having the FL license negates any potential problems.
    I now refer you back to the first sentence in this post.

FrankT

6.8 SPCII Hog Slayer
    If you are a resident in any state and get their DL and such you must also get their permit,your VA is invalid now and you cannot carry legally in FL.

schmen

Shooter
    Thanks for al the help guys, application going in for FL CCW today, and guess I'll just have to go without carrying for a while.

rockb

Expert
    If you are a resident in any state and get their DL and such you must also get their permit,your VA is invalid now and you cannot carry legally in FL.