• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • HEIST

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    I've got a new, cheap 24" AR barrel and a Remington 700 243. I was wondering what's everybody's take on the barrel break in procedure? Do you do a break in or not, and what is your reasoning behind it? I will do the break in on my AR barrel just because it is only an $80 barrel and I think it would do it some good. Screenshot_2017-08-29-21-05-28.png

Attachments

• Screenshot_2017-08-29-21-05-28.png
      Screenshot_2017-08-29-21-05-28.png
      30.2 KB · Views: 322

Little Jack

Master
    Rating - 100%
    12   0   0
    MYTH!!!!

I'm no expert so take this fwiw.

Rumor started by a barrel maker in order to get his customers to use up his product a little bit quicker..... Thereby buying more product.

Is your AR barrel chrome lined? If so, you're not going to break that in.

I just got a stainless grendel barrel. I've put 15rds through it. The last 5 were .5moa.

If you want to break in your barrel, go ahead. I don't. That's just me though.

Dan1612

Master
    Rating - 100%
    28   0   0
    I don't break in. My most fired AR has a stainless barrel, and I just shoot it. I also don't clean it nearly as much as I probably should, and it just runs, and runs beautifully. The people who made it also didn't break it in to test fire and make the test target.
    Of course, "breaking in" won't hurt anything, but I say myth.

FUPAGUNT

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Break it in by going to the range this weekend and putting 500 rounds down range. Thats my idea of breaking it in. 1 shot clean 1 shot clean. BS if you ask me

HEIST

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Thanks for the responses. Nate, your response is the best one I've seen so far, nobody could tell me why most of the manufacturers recommend a break in procedure.

SAWMAN

Master