HD Tactical

Best Bullet placement to take down BB (Black bear)

The #1 community for Gun Owners of the Gulf Coast States

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • kneel4zodd

Banned
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    i am quite new to hunting and i want o get all the facts down, BB's are very tough so i will like to be prepared. i hear hunters always have a carry gun to shoot their self on the head if a black bear gets too close(i wouldn't want that to happen to me LOLZ) i have a nice Colt 901 rifle and i believe is enough fire power for bb hunting, i also have a very nice Nf nxs 55 scope mounted on the rifle so i think that's covered too. please can anyone tell me their practical experience and best bullet placement, Thanks.

SAWMAN

Master
    Rating - 100%
    9   0   0
    After I retired from the military I became a Master Maine Guide. I guided bear,deer,moose,coyotes,and believe it or not . . . crows,for the next 20 years or so.
    From an elevated position with your firearm at least 12' above the ground . . . very high on the shoulder. Standing at ground level or sitting in a ground blind . . . square on the shoulder.
    NEVER take a spine and especially a head shot. Use a 308Win or bigger. A big caliber (bore size) is better. A 45-70 is primo. A WFNGC is more primo. No pistol calibers unless it is a 454Casull or close to that. A 45LC heavily loaded and coming out of 6+ inches of bbl is "OK".
    At the shot,keep an eye on the bear as long as possible. Keep completely quiet and listen.