• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Murfpcola

Master
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    I have a Bushmaster carbine that I bought about 16 years ago and I knew nothing about AR rifles. It has the non removable carry handle. Now 16 years later I know about the same about ARs and would like to have my upper receiver swapped out to a flat top for mounting optics. How much would that run for labor and who could do it right? It appears that I can get a stripped receiver for about $90 if I look around. I am in no hurry. Thanks in advance, Murphy.

TennJeep1618

2M 1FTE
    GCGF Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    It's not very difficult, with the proper tools.

If you ever get over this way and I have time, I'll do it for a 6 pack.

Are you wanting to keep the handguard, barrel, FSB, etc.? Or do you want to swap those parts out as well?

fishingjean

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    There are many on here who would walk you through this swap, me not one of of them, they will respond soon I am sure !!!!! Denny in pace !! Maybe. Youtube ??

Murfpcola

Master
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    It's not very difficult, with the proper tools.

If you ever get over this way and I have time, I'll do it for a 6 pack.

Are you wanting to keep the handguard, barrel, FSB, etc.? Or do you want to swap those parts out as well?

I might swap out the front sight post if it would interfere with my scope line of sight. Does it have to be removed to remove barrel from the upper receiver? I would keep the hand guard because I picked up a PSA mid length AR last week with a key mod rail so I will mount a light to it for hunting hogs.

TennJeep1618

2M 1FTE
    GCGF Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0