• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Brandon_SPC

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    I have no idea which one I want to buy first. AR or AK? If I buy an AR I will be building it from the ground up. If I buy an AK I am buying the Milled Centurion 39. Of course they both have pros and cons. Anybody that has an AK please speak why you love it because I have only shot few but for some reason that weapon system appeals to me more. Now with the AR platform I have had plenty of experience with it and for the AR guys speak out too. Also if you have both which one do you prefer? Geez this is like picking whether I wanted to carry a shield or an xds for conceal carry. Any ideas?

Last edited:

FrankT

6.8 SPCII Hog Slayer
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    I would probably do the AR first since it is a build but be ready to jump on the best AK deal you can find. AR and AR parts are cheaper than before the scare so you can do well. It will give you the time it take to get a good deal on an AK.

The Pitt

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    I have a lot of hands on time with the AR platform but I love my AK. This was a tough decision for me also that the AR won out on. It took me a few years later to get my first AK cause I was so focused on AR builds.

However you may want to get into an AK asap. The cost of AKs will probably increase with the recently announced sanctions on Russian.

Last edited:

Dan1612

Master
    Rating - 100%
    28   0   0
    Ultimately, both, or you'll always wonder whether you have the right gun.

Which first? AK, just so you'll have a rifle, then build your AR at your leisure with good parts instead of rushing just so you can have a gun. Although, used, complete ARs are very cheap right now.

I like the caliber of the AK and the simplicity and user friendliness of the AR. YMMV.

Mr. Katanga

Expert
    Rating - 0%